Spring

S P R I N G ! 

With Spring comes new energy.  All the dreams and wishes over the winter begin to poke through.  I’m feeling really good today.  For one, I can see the ground again.  Also, the sun is beautifully warm on my skin as I sit and write this. (Photo below – ‘Nest’ crochet & woven yarns, 2011).

Image

I headed out early this morning to have some new work juried at the provincial craft council.  I brought in my hand stitched art, some Prairie Rugs, and a few other things that I would like to be able to sell at the juried markets.  I get a little nervous before hand, but I always walk away feeling AMAZING after.  It’s not just a pride thing or relief of ‘wow, they liked me!’.  No.  It’s more of a learning step.  It’s so helpful to get feedback and ideas, especially on presentation and framing.  Fibre art is so up in the air that way.  It’s newer to the fine art scene, and everyone has their own opinions.  In fact, my two jurors agreed to disagree on aspects of matting my work.  I laughed and told them I agree with both their opinions.

In the end, I have a larger variety of fibre art having passed the juried process.  It gave me a great lift to go forward with my work.  I have so many ideas and all the confidence to pull it off.  ; )  All that is left now is some serious spring cleaning in my studio.

Image

Serious.  Spring.  Cleaning.

~Monika

Leave a comment