Everything Always Works Out Just Fine.

March.  In my art life, March is without a doubt, ‘in like a lion, out like a lion’.  It seems to be the most stressful time for deadlines, commitments, grants writing, workshops, workload.  I do to it myself.  Over the slow months at the beginning of the year, I get this nothing is happening panic.

Then I start signing up for many things.

Tomorrow I hang a show of a dozen pieces of my work.  I did not think I would be able to fit it in.  I did it though!  I pick up all my art from the framer today.  She is my hero.  My family was kind enough to give me time in the evenings to work, work, work.  It’s hard for everyone in the house to pretend mommy is not really there.  It is apparently quite the personal challenge.  But I became the eye of the storm.  I sat in my quiet for days and days and worked and worked.  I have nine new pieces finished based on my favorite larger works in the past.  They are all real places with real memories.

I love the prairie.  LOVE.  And I love to translate what I love in thread.  Oh.  And I also love thread.

Image

above:  detail of Flax at Jackfish 5, 2014.  5×5″

The above photo is the view of Jackfish Lake from the highway when the field between was planted with flax.  My mother lives there.  She challenged me to thins.  Blue sky, blue horizon, blue lake, blue flax field.  At first I thought she was NUTS.  I didn’t have a clue how to pull this one off.  I gave it a shot.  I threw out the first one after hours and hours of stitching French Knots.  The second try was STUNNING.  I created it a few more times – once as a wide horizon, once as a long vertical piece, and again as a large rectangle.  This one is part of the new small batch now.  It’s like a mini.

Image

above: Canola & Alfalfa, 2014.  5×5″ framed and matted to 10×10″.

Image

above:  Sky and Cattails, 2014.  5×5″  framed and matted to 10×10″

These are all going to be for sale in the art exhibit at Gardenscape in Saskatoon this weekend.  Each of the 30+ artists involved rent their own board and display floral or landscape themes.  I jumped in 4 years ago amongst a hall full of photography and paintings.  It was a pretty exciting time.  When I came I in to do my volunteer shift on the last day, nearly everything had sold and people were waiting to speak to me – including a journalist from the local paper!  I felt like star.  It was crazy fun and completely unexpected.

Image

above – Hills at Jackfish #2, 2014  5×5″ mini

This year I decided to recreate the ‘tried and true’ pieces for this show in a smaller version to help maintain affordability.  As my work goes up in value, it is hard to display alongside new, lower priced artists.  I had already decided I would not do this particular show again, but then so many friends and buyers and fans began emailing me to say they were excited to finally get to see my work.  Collectors wanted to come back for more.  And so – more it is.  : )

Image

above: detail of Spring Melt, 2014.  5×5″ mini framed and matted to 10×10″

The moral of the story?  Everything worked out.  Just fine.  In time.  As it always does.  All is well.

Image

above:  After the Storm, 2014 in 5×5″

~Monika K.

 

Leave a comment