What’s Left of Last Autumn

It IS spring.  The prairies look like autumn once the winter recedes.  The only difference is that the wind is strong and cold.  In the fall, the wind is hot.  I thought I would share some photos I took out at Chief Whitecap Park by the South Saskatchewan River.  It’s a natural offleash area that was recommended to me by another artist once she way my Cranberry Flats threadpaintings.  Photography is not really off topic for my blog as all of my work revolves around the inspirational source photos I take of my sweet prairie.

Image

Even on cold, snowy days like this when there’s only two colours out there (grey & yellow) I refuse to back down when people belittle the prairie and joke how ‘there is nothing to see’.  Silly folk.  Clearly they are not looking.

Image

I would feel sorry for anyone who could overlook these beautiful golden curls.  And oh!  The mystery… after months of heavy snowfall, here they are!  The tender plants and blades of grass are still standing up and looking pretty as ever.  How do they do it?

Image

I love to get up close and personal.  I could lie there on the prairie forever.  It is the quietest place on the planet.  This is my heaven on earth.

Image

I love the smell.  I love the air.  I love the sound of the dry grasses in the cold breeze.  It is beautiful.

You know the joke…  ‘you can watch your dog run away forever‘?

Image

: )

If he loves you, it doesn’t matter,  He always comes running back.  : )

Image

There’s my little love story.  I hope you liked it. : )

~Monika K.

 

Leave a comment